Nintendo and HAL Labs have made quite a few announcements regarding the upcoming Super Smash Brothers iteration, many of which imply that Masahiro Sakurai is attempting to score points with the competitive gaming market. In addition to the Super Smash Bros. Invitational announcement late this April, Nintendo has announced that Super Smash Brothers for the Wii U will utilize a new peripheral that allows Gamecube controllers to connect to Wii U consoles.

Start of Article

No word on whether Gamecube controllers will experience a revival in production.

There will be 16 playable characters in the E3 Smash area this year, 14 of which are known: Wii Fit Trainer, Marth, Megaman, Pit, Villager, Pikachu, Mario, Link, Kirby, Samus, Rosalina & Luma, Sonic the Hedgehog, Donkey Kong, and Greninja. Similarly, a roster of competitive Smash players from all over the country will be attending the event to play in a tournament to showcase  and judge the new Smash Brosmechanics.

Lilian “milktea” Chen, Hugo “HugS” Gonzalez, Ken “LiquidKen” Hoang, Daniel “LiquidKDJ” Jung, Neha “Lilo” Chhetri, Hendrick “DJNintendo” Pilar, Kris “Toph” Aldenderfer, Sam “PeachyHime” McNaughton, Juan “Crs. Hungrybox” Debiedma, Kevin “PewPewU” Toy, Kevin “EG PPMD” Nanney, Dakota “TheRapture” Lasky, Cristin “Crismas” DeSaro, McCain “MacD” LaVelle, Masaya “aMSa” Chikamoto, and Gonzalo “CT ZeRo” Barrios.

These contestants are well known in the Smash Brothers community for their tournament prowess. In order to make them feel more at home, they will be announced by regular Super Smash Brothers: Melee commentators:

Wynton “Prog” Smith, Bobby “Scar” Scarnewman, and D’Ron “D1” Maingrette. The event will be hosted by none other than Geoff Keighley.

E3 takes place this year June 10-12 at the Nokia Theater in Los Angelos, California.¬† The Smash Brothers Invitational will be happening from 4:00PM to 6:30PM Pacific Time. With Nintendo’s unprecedented efforts to include competitive players, E3 2014 is sure to be an interesting event for the gaming community. Count on a stream and updates from’s Twitter @hyruledotnet.


Facebook Logo  Twitter Logo

End of Article

Related Articles: