Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Would you take a life?

53 posts in this topic

Posted

As most of you know I work for a private security company called Securitas. My day job is a Security Guard in a Hartford area Bank of America branch. When I tell this to most people they ask:

"Do you have a gun?"

The answer is yes I carry a Glock 22, it's basically the kind of gun cops use. I also (against company policy mind you) keep a Shotgun in the trunk of my car (I wanba be prepared in case of a North Hollywood Shootout type of situation).

It's company policy to let robbers have the money and not to engage unless they threaten the customers that's when I have to take action. Someone asked if I had it in me to kill someone. I used to say "yeah sure why not", but now I'm not so sure.

I mean shooting at a paper target is one thing, but a living breathing person is something else entirely.

Posted

I dunno, probably if they asked me nicely. Why are you suddenly unsure if you'd take a life or not?

Posted

I don't think I have it in me to take a life. Killing just goes against my moral code.

That moral code however says NOTHING about shooting someone in a nonlethal way.

Posted

Sounds like someones watched Trigun!

Posted

That moral code however says NOTHING about shooting someone in a nonlethal way.

Okay, this is a big pet peeve of mine. There is absolutely no such thing as shooting somebody in a nonlethal way. You do not fire a gun unless you are prepared to kill somebody with it.

Posted

Unless you're Vash the Stampede!

Posted

Or unless you shoot below the waist. Then it's not considered shooting to kill, or whatever.

Posted

Okay, this is a big pet peeve of mine. There is absolutely no such thing as shooting somebody in a nonlethal way. You do not fire a gun unless you are prepared to kill somebody with it.

This.