Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Happy New Year 2014: Vent about your year thread

11 posts in this topic

Posted

Or talk about nice things that happened too. Probably that more so.

So every time I think about the new year I kind of get choked up, and it's gonna be a special year for me. So I'll spoiler this since I fully intend on ranting about a lot of things.

When I was a freshman in college, back in 2010, I remember thinking that 2014 was so far away. Like all of my life decisions that I would have to make would happen and by the time it was 2014, I would have a lot of things figured out. I didn't anticipate it, but I lived and learned and yeah, I matured a lot into the person I am now. I don't consider myself a college kid anymore, and I'm very much an adult (not a very experienced one) and I've got bills to pay and jobs to worry about and all that stuff. This last semester was the last time I would be taking "classes" at my university; as many of you know, I'm in the education field and I will be student teaching starting in a week. Essentially a full time unpaid job.

I caught myself thinking about my school this morning. How I used to ride the bus to classes and look at the scenery around me. I'd walk home sometimes and just embrace the environment that I was in. I found myself thinking that I am going to miss this town very much when I leave. I'd gotten comfortable in a town after three and a half years and now, this is my home. And I was going to have to leave what I called home again in the coming year. Even now, I'm getting watery eyed at the thought of it.