Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Stupid Virtual Console

16 posts in this topic

Posted

This is infuriating, and I'm sure there are quite a few people who feel the way I do:

Okay, so a couple of weeks ago I downloaded Super Mario 64 from the Virtual console at 15 Australian Dollars, in the game synopsis it said it could be controlled by either the Classic or Gamecube controllers. I started playing it shortly after; and as soon as I open it from the Wii's Main screen what should appear, but a message at the top of the screen saying "You need a classic controller to play". Even though it said you could use GC controllers. So now I can't get mario to backflip because of the lack of two 'Z' buttons.

Now, a couple of days ago I, stupidly, downloaded another N64 game; this time Lylat Wars. I opened the game, and I got the same message: "You need a classic controller to play". Basically I can play the game, but only along a single-path. Usually there are some forks in your path, so you can have different levels to choose from. So I've been screwed again, I can't play the entire game; I have to miss 2/3rds of the levels.

The reason I'm so annoyed is that Nintendo blatantly advertised both in its press conferences and on the download screen, that you could play every VC game with the Gamecube controller. They managed to do this with Ocarina of Time on GC, but now you need two 'Z' buttons to play the game on the Virtual Console version. I don't know why they did this, maybe just to sell more Classic Controllers.

I just feel really ripped off, because now I have two games I cannot complete, and it's all due to an extra button on a controller I shouldn't have to buy. I just think Nintendo should stop saying the games are compatible if they aren't.

Thankyou.

Posted