Four Swords Adventures

Release Dates

Gamecube 7/7/2004 3/18/2004 1/7/2005


The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures (Japanese: ゼルダの伝説4つの剣+ Zeruda no Densetsu Yottsu no Tsurugi Purasu) is the eleventh installment in the series, and first and only to be multiplayer. It was released on Nintendo GameCube in Japan and North America in 2004, and Europe and Australia in 2005. The multiplayer option is achieved through the Nintendo GameBoy Advance, which can be connected to the GameCube via the Game Boy Advance Cable, which comes bundled with the game in North America.

Four Swords Adventures borrows gameplay elements and audio from The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past and art style from The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker. Critics praised the graphics and story integration with the multiplayer feature, though criticized the requirement of a Game Boy Advance and cable for multiple players. The game is the lowest selling in the series, with 250,000 copies sold worldwide.


Long ago in the inner reaches of Hyrule, an evil wind sorcerer known as Vaati began kidnapping beautiful young maidens, one after another. Nobody could stop Vaati, and the people of Hyrule despaired.

Then, a brave young wanderer carrying a single sword appeared. When the young lad took out his sword, he split into four separate beings. The legends say that these beings worked as one and defeated Vaati.

The wanderer, united once again, imprisoned Vaati deep in Hyrule and sealed the prison with his own sword. This place became known as the Realm of the Four Sword.

After that, a long time passed…

Then the wind sorcerer Vaati broke out of his prison, and snatched Princess Zelda of Hyrule. Zelda’s childhood friend, a young boy named Link, claimed the strange power of the Four Sword, and fought Vaati fiercely. In the end, he succeeded in sealing Vaati away once again.

And so peace was restored to Hyrule. Or so everyone thought…

comments powered by Disqus